Victoria’s Black Hat

The Black Hat is an Australian commercial cookery honor bestowed by the Australian Culinary Federation Victoria.

The Black Hat Award is to be considered the highest achievement given to a chef to recognize their contribution and commitment to the commercial cookery industry and must be measurably and significantly beyond that would be expected in a normal career of a chef.

It is an award that places a high value on industry commitment in addition to culinary skill.

The primary focus of the award is intended to honor the degree, the value and length of time of the contribution to commercial cookery.

Only Chefs, who have made outstanding contributions to Australian culinary progress and development at the highest trade or professional level, will be considered for this prestigious award.

History Criteria Nomination

Sidney Taylor  - 1980 (Vale)
Sidney Taylor
1980 (Vale)

Alexander Chenevier
1982 (Vale)

Ernst Stuhler-1984
Ernst Stuhler

bh 5
John Miller OAM.

Claudio Magris O.A.M. - 1990 (Vale)
Claudio Magris OAM.
1987 (Vale)

Aelfryn Bailey 1991 ( Vale)
Aelfryn Bailey
1991 (Vale)

George Hill - 2001
George Hill

Bernd Uber – 2006
Bernd Uber

Gary Farrell - 2006
Gary Farrell

Brendan Hill - 2013
Brendan Hill

Australian Culinary Federation

Australian Culinary Federation
Australian Culinary Federation